Experience You Can
Depend On

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Jones Act
  4.  » Types of coverage and compensation under the Jones Act

Types of coverage and compensation under the Jones Act

On Behalf of | Nov 18, 2021 | Jones Act

The Jones Act allows the recovery of damages for injured maritime workers. This law provides compensation that covers an individual’s past, present, and future expenses. The recipient’s payouts are significantly more than those provided by the Longshore Act or workers’ comp programs. Anyone seeking compensation in New York under the Jones Act must qualify to obtain payment for their injuries.

Who is covered under the law?

Section 27 of the Merchant Marine Act of 1920, known as the Jones Act, regulates cabotage, which restricts the international operation of vessels in U.S. waters. Only American ships and mariners are allowed to transport goods to and from U.S. ports. The ship’s operators must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

In addition, the law outlines the specific rights of maritime workers. Injured sailors have the right to accuse an employer of negligence and file a claim for compensation. This U.S. federal law provides certain protections that are not found in international maritime laws.

Types of remedies

Jones Act allows an injured maritime worker to recover any lost wages and pay for medical expenses along with pain and suffering that may occur in the past, present or future. Calculating one’s earnings may include calculating losses that are extended for years or decades for as long as the sailor remains injured. The present value must be used to calculate the future value of a person’s income.

Recovering damages under maritime law

The Jones Act provides wide-spanning coverage for any damages that are suffered by maritime workers. It also protects U.S. workers by preventing foreign ships from transporting cargo between U.S. ports. Workers can seek compensation due to rights that were previously denied them.